Meet the
Successful Aging Team

We are located in Thunder Bay, Ontario Canada. We are generously funded by Manulife Financial and the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship. Our web sit is created and hosted by CorMac Technologies Inc.

Lee Stones is the project spokesperson and part-time site editor. She has co-authored 2 books, written 5 plays and has worked in the field of Gerontology for over 20 years. She teaches Self-esteem and Stress Management on a regular basis and has a strong background in community development.

Our Advisory Board and committees kindly donate
their time and expertise to the project:

  • Dr. Michael Stones has done research on aging for 30 years. He is a professor in the Psychology Department at Lakehead University (LU) in Thunder Bay. He is also Director of the Northern Educational Centre for Aging and Health at Lakehead University.
  • Dr. Douglas West is a professor in the Department of Political Science at LU.
  • Dr. Dwight Mazmanian is a professor in the Psychology Department at LU.
  • Dr. Joanne Zamparo is a professor in the Social Work Department at LU.
  • Dr. Gordon Hayman is a professor in the Psychology Department at LU.
  • Dr. Bruce Minore is a professor in the Sociology Department at LU and Director of the Centre for Rural and Northern Health Research.
  • Dr. Joey Farrell is a professor in the Department of Kinesiology at LU.
  • Dr. Mary Anne Mountain is a Clinical Psychologist at St. Joseph's hospital.
  • Dr. Sharon Rickard-Bon is a specialist in Nutrition.
  • Dr. Trevor Bon is a specialist in Geriatrics.
  • Sandra Crawford, R.N. is a nurse practitioner.
  • Wendy Kirkpatrick, R.N. is the Administrator of the Grandview Lodge in Thunder Bay.
  • Kim McKibbon is a nutritionist and has worked with the Thunder Bay Health Unit.
  • Tom Gash is the Director of the North Western Ontario Council on Positive Aging.
  • Etheleen Porter Brysch is a Public Health Nurse who works with older adults.
  • Keith Nymark is the Editor of Superior Choices Newspaper located in Thunder Bay.
  • John Duncanson is retired from LU and is a community leader.
  • Art Chepil is the Chair of the West Thunder Community Centre.
  • Margaret Bianco is community leader.
  • Ivy Isherwood is the retired Director of the Victoria Order of Nurses.
  • Helen Makela is a fitness expert and co-owner of Canadian Health and Fitness Gym.
  • Ruth Mayor is a community leader.
  • Evelyn Barnes Fedoroniak is a retired banker and fitness advocate.
  • Celia Gibbs is a mature student at LU.

  • Students who work on the project:
  • Jennifer Bertrand is a Masters student in the Social Work Program at LU.
  • Ed St. Pierre is a doctoral student in the Psychology program at LU.
  • C. Knight is a doctoral student in the Psychology program at LU.
  • Rachel Dean is a student in the Kinesiology program at LU.

  • Other Staff:
  • Peter Brink helps manage the web site.